Olive Garden Reviewer Wins Super Serious Journalism Award

Marilyn Hagerty, the internet's favorite food critic , will receive this year's Al Neuharth Award! Previous winners: Walter Cronkite, Tom Brokaw and Larry King.

Source: cache.daylife.com

Congratulations are in order for 86-year-old reporter and columnist Marilyn Hagerty, this year's recipient of the prestigious Al Neuharth Award for Excellence in the Media.

Though she's been an award-winning journalist for six decades, Hagerty is best known for earnestly reviewing her local Olive Garden and Applebee's for the Grand Forks Herald.

Neuharth, who founded USA Today, chose Hagerty for her commitment to "serving local communities through consistently fair, truthful and relevant coverage." She was also his first editor at their college paper in the 1940s, so there's that.

Here, a few of her Neuharth Award predecessors:

Walter Cronkite, 1989

Walter Cronkite, 1989

Source: www-tc.pbs.org

View Entire List ›


BuzzFeed - Latest